DVD quality: a professional opinion

This forum is for questions/discussions about the now sold out first DVD box set by BMG / AnotherUniverse.
gaz
Frozen Embryo

DVD quality: a professional opinion

Post by gaz » Apr 7th 2004, 9:28 pm

I am a post-production TV engineer & editor who just picked up the "BMG" version of the DVD boxset. Given the number of conflicting questions about the "quality" of the DVD's, I thought I'd give my view.

* Video quality
- Varies from episode to episode. The pilot is rather a mess, but everyone knows that already. The main difference I notice is a change in color balance among episodes. For example, "Life of Brian" is VERY saturated in color compared to the others. Other differences are less noticeable to the typical eye, but they are there.

Episode-to-episode differences aside, overall the video quality is good for a mid-90's broadcast show. Keep in mind what we're talking about here: a network show shot in multiple phases that actually stretched across more than one season, even though they only got 19 episodes in the can before getting the axe. So pretend you're the one trying to make DVD's now: You're not going to find any "video originals", so to speak...the best you can hope for, given that time era, is a good Betacam-SP layoff from the final edit system - which you still probably won't find. You'll probably only find some distribution-type dubs a generation or two down from a final layoff...if you're lucky. This probably explains the difference in how the pilot looks: the best tape anybody could find after so many years was an old dub sitting on a dusty shelf somewhere...

I saw a couple of episodes on BetaSP dubs during the time that MTV rebroadcast the show in '97 - I think they were the actual "masters" MTV used - and they looked good to me at the time. The DVD's look just like what I remember seeing on those BetaSP's.