Geek Alert!: Magic the Gathering CCG questions

As the forum title implies: This is the forum for "anything else" which doesn't fit into one of the other forums.
fnordboy
Ed Zwick Wannabe

Geek Alert!: Magic the Gathering CCG questions

Post by fnordboy » Feb 18th 2004, 12:20 pm

Basically I started playing Magic the Gathering back when it first came out, when there was only a small handful of people playing it even in the RPG convention scene (ohmygodimanerd! ;) ). I got tired of it after awhile of playing and sold off a large part of my collection at the time. Kept basically my playing deck (red/black) and a few other cards. I got into Jyhad and Rage CCGs but they quickly got boring.

So here I am now, a decade+ later and I still have these cards. I want to unload them and I know I got a lot of cash back in the day when I sold mine, but now I don't know worth (or even if they are worth anything). I am pretty sure I have Alpha and Betas but I am not positive. Anyone know where I can find a price guide and a way to tell what series cards I have so I can figure out what I actually have. IIRC back in the day the border color meant something, I have both white border and black border cards if that means anything. Anyone with any knowledge about MtG please help.

Also, I have autographed cards. Possibly autographed by Jeff Menges(?) but I am not sure. And a few joke cards that someone in the scene was making "Circle of Protection" became an illustration of a condom, etc.

If anyone has any knowledge about this stuff please help. And if anyone is interested in any of these cards let me know (post here or PM) and I will put up a list of what I have.

fnordboy
Ed Zwick Wannabe

Post by fnordboy » Feb 24th 2004, 1:12 pm

You can't tell me there is no one on here who hadn't played Magic the Gathering... :(

I can't be alone in my Geekdom. :shock:

andrewgd
Liberty High Graduate

Post by andrewgd » Feb 24th 2004, 10:05 pm