The Origins of Women's Shoes

As the forum title implies: This is the forum for "anything else" which doesn't fit into one of the other forums.
Nostradamus
Marshall Wannabe

The Origins of Women's Shoes

Post by Nostradamus » Jan 26th 2003, 12:34 am

I've been thinking about this lately and I can't figure it out: when did women's shoes become separate from men's shoes? Are spike heels sexy because of some innate quality, or because society says they are? Why don't men wear heels?
I have never killed a man, but I have read many obituaries with great pleasure.
-- Clarence Darrow

I didn't attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.
-- Mark Twain

Natasha (candygirl)
MSCL.com Team
MSCL.com Team

Post by Natasha (candygirl) » Jan 26th 2003, 12:52 am

I'm not a shoe expert, but if you look at say 18th century fashion, the men and women were wearing shoes with small heels. I don't know if that was due to practicality, as in trying to keep their nice clothes out of the mud, or an actual fashion.

If you want the ultra-feminist viewpoint, those sexy shoes are a way to imprison women - they are literally hobbled. Alias and Buffy aside, how fast can you run away when you're wearing three inch heels? Pretty good argument if you look at Chinese footbinding (although I must add that if the feet were bound properly, the women could walk and run just as quickly as women with unbound feet - unfortunately, the feet were often bound incorrectly causing infection or excrutiating pain).
Natasha aka candygirl :: MSCL.com

Look, if this is weird for you, being tutored? I don't mind helping you a little longer.
You could have sex with me if you really want to help...I guess that's a "no"?

Nostradamus
Marshall Wannabe

Post by Nostradamus » Jan 26th 2003, 1:16 am